Book review: Big Vegan

I had decided I wanted to learn to cook good vegan food. So I bought a book at the American Book Centre: Big Vegan by Robin Asbell. She blogs, by the way.

Shortest review

It is a brilliant cookbook. Buy it, read it, enjoy it, and most of all: cook from it.

Longer review

In order to assess my review, you should know I’m considered a good vegetarian cook by my vegetarian and omnivorous friends and family. I’m a fase 3-cook.

I took out the book because it promised a lot of recipes. I’d seen online reviews lamenting the lack of pictures, but I’ve inherited my mother’s notion that picture books are not necessarily good cook books. The pictures that are provided are absolutely gorgeous.

The meat (pun intended) of the matter is of course recipes. My darling sister once gave me her rule of thumb for a useful cookbook: it’s worth the money when you make six recipes out of a book. Seems like very little, doesn’t it?

So far, I’ve made:

  • Green Goddess Salad (twice, in fact. And the creamy dreamy  avocado dressing once extra as a dipping)
  • Pomegranate Tabbouleh (for a dedicated omnivore who loved it)
  • Potato-leek soup
  • Lentil Chili
  • Gratin of Apples, Sweet Potatoes and Beets
  • Creamy Artichoke Pasta al Forno
  • Creamy Triple-Mushroom fettuccine

The instructions are clear and make sense. The timing of the recipes is correct. Every single recipe was a succes, and there are still recipes I look forward to making.

Some of the recipes require products that are not readily available in The Netherlands, but in the internet age that shouldn’t be too big a problem. But mostly, I found most ingredients without trouble in my medium-sized hometown.

Wholeheartedly recommended.

One response to this post.

  1. […] 26. Favourite cookbook? Mark Bittman, De Dikke Vegetarier, momenteel: Big Vegan. […]

    Beantwoorden

Geef een reactie

