Bill Clinton

Over at Shakesville, there were things some people wanted to say about Bill Clinton.

I’m (metaphorically) Switzerland. Have at it in the comments.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by potsherds on september 7, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I wish his ability to cogently and clearly rip apart the R/R platform and make the case for an Obama reelection matched his ability to be a decent human being or vice versa. As that’s not the case, and it looks like he’ll never see the inside of a jail, I can only hope that the survivors of his crimes have supportive and caring people around them and have achieved some measure of healing.

    I despise that so much of the country generally likes and respects him, and thanks to the ever-present rape culture, few people even seem to be aware of the many, many claims he’s a serially sexual assaulter.

    Beantwoorden

  2. Posted by blogromp on september 7, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    I have trouble reconciling my disgust at seeing and hearing him speak with how inspiring his speech nevertheless was. I need all the inspiration and hope I can get right now, so I’m taking it. But I feel creepy about it.

    Beantwoorden

  3. Posted by Libby on september 8, 2012 at 10:44 am

    If Shakesville were truly a safe space then there would at least be an acknowledgement of Clinton’s history, especially as omitting it has caused many survivors to feel invalidated and ignored.

    Beantwoorden

    • I really understand what you’re saying here, but I maintain that there are things Shakesville writers and contributors and mods cannot deal with.

      I assume (since I didn’t ask) not bringing it up was a way of not dealing the those issues at this point.

      But I understand how it hurts.

      Beantwoorden

      • Posted by blogromp on september 8, 2012 at 6:30 pm

        I’ve noticed that some posts include a note at the bottom saying that certain topics of discussion will be considered off-topic for comments on that post, and I wonder if such a note may have been helpful in this particular case. However, I can also see how that may have backfired, drawing attention to and criticisms of the note rather than the post itself. And I’m not sure how else this could’ve been handled in a way that would be safe for the mods.

        The intricacies of running and moderating a feminist/womanist space are far more difficult and complicated than I can truly understand from the point of view of a reader and commenter, so I don’t know what the actual implications are of the different choices.

        The safety and needs of the site’s maintainers have primacy, because without them, there can be no community. And only they can determine how they will handle making the space as safe as is reasonable for them. But no one is perfect, and we all have room to grow with regard to being sensitive to the needs of marginalized people, so mistakes are bound to be made. However, Melissa has posted before about how she receives a constant barrage of criticisms and complaints about the way Shakesville is run, and how stressful that is. I can only imagine how much more difficult that must be at the moment, due to her health issues and the current skeleton crew of moderators. So I’m not sure what the right way might be to ask for accommodations.

      • Well, my response was to set up another space where it could be discussed (slowly, because of campaign duties and my being in a different time zone) but that’s partly due to the fact that I noticed there was a desire to discuss it and I felt I could take it for now. I cannot imagine the number of comments Melissa and the mods have to go over every single day to maintain the space. I’m not promoting the topic, say, at Feministe. I’ve mentioned it on Shakesville twice and that was it.

      • Posted by blogromp on september 9, 2012 at 9:13 pm

        And it’s awesome that you did. 🙂

Geef een reactie

